Template for RET project

1. Title

The big gold bit at the top that catches your attention.

2. Abstract

The proposal should include a concise statement of my intended research. This may be a couple of sentences setting out the problem that I want to examine or the central question that I will address.

Clarify that this project is about the use of Drone for photographic/ video purposes in the sub 20kg category.

(200 words -ish)

3. Research Context

Explaining the broad background against which I would conduct this research, including a brief overview of the general area of study within which my proposed research falls.

Summarising the current state of knowledge in the area and recent debates on the topics using national media to highlight the issues. This will allow me to demonstrate my familiarity with the relevant field as well as the ability to communicate clearly and concisely.

Summarise the current laws and restrictions to the UK drone flight, using materials from referenced sources, CAA other relevant locations.

Discuss the breaches of personal, private and local security in unregulated drone use, as well as health and safety dangers and the data protection of unregulated image capture.

(1500 words)

4. Research Methods

Outline the research methods, explaining how I am going to conduct the research. Methods may include visiting particular libraries or archives, field work or interviews.

Explain my key resources  (e.g. law reports, journal articles), if I plan to conduct field work or collect empirical data, I will provide details about this (e.g. if  I plan interviews, who will I interview? How many interviews will I conduct? Will there be problems of access?).

Mention the use of ethical data collection. Discuss why this is the most effective method of capturing the data for this project.

(1000 words)

5. Research Questions

Create questionnaire and research gathering forms discuss how these would be distributed.

This section should also explain how I am going to analyse my research findings.
(500 words – not including questionnaire)

6. Significance of Research/ Conclusion 

The proposal should demonstrate the originality of my intended research and should therefore explain why this research is important (for example, by explaining how my research builds on and adds to the current state of knowledge in the field or by setting out reasons why it is timely to research the proposed topic).

(800 words)

7. Bibliography

The proposal should include a short bibliography identifying the most relevant works for the topic.

(word count not recorded)

Leave a Reply

